.my sappy side.

Tomorrow is our two-year wedding anniversary, and I am still so very excited to be married to my best friend. I love so much remembering the electric moments in our relationship: the first time we met, our first date, our first kiss, our wedding day, the days that we found out that we were expecting our sweet babies, and so many passionate days in between. It’s been a year of high highs and low lows, many of which I hope to never have to walk through again. But even in our darkest days, I have never felt alone, misunderstood, or unsupported. I am so very lucky to live in this daily love. Happy anniversary, babe!

Ani Difranco (a perennial favorite of mine) is about to release a new album this month. We received our pre-ordered copy in the mail this week, and I’ve nearly worn through the cd listening to it on repeat (I adore the process of falling in love with new music). She has lots of love songs on this new disc. One in particular, “Hearse,” has been floating around in my brain. It sums up nicely how I feel about my marriage, though I have to say that the “little baby in the next room dreamin” is so so so much more than just “icing on the cake.”

I don’t wanna strive for nothin anymore / I just wanna lie here with you / keep the wolves outside the door / there is nothin in this world you could ever show me / that could ever matter more

little baby in the next room dreamin / is just icing on the cake / there is nothing like dancin’ / our dance of give and take / one step forward / one step sideways / that helpless feeling when the earth shakes

I will always be your lover / even after our atoms are dispersed / we’ll be pushing up daisies / and my crush will just be gettin worse / and i will follow you into the next life / like a dog chasing after a hearse

I just don’t wanna strive for nothin’anymore / i just wanna lie here with you / keep the wolves outside the door / there is nothin’in this world you could ever show me / that could ever matter more

7 thoughts on “.my sappy side.

Leave a Reply

