.turning over.

The snow is finally melting today, and, though it’s teased us with this prospect before, it does seem that spring is near. I am so looking forward to a new season, to new life, and to more time outside. By the end of February living in the north, I start to feel trapped by the constant deluge of snow.ice.scraping.sliding.cold.dark.days. And this winter has seen its fair share of dark days of the soul with losing Saul and then R’s dad.

I’m currently at home sitting out a rare sick day with acute mastitis (sidenote: Ouch!). I’ve never had any kind of breast problem throughout the 14 months I’ve been nursing Bram, but I awoke Thursday morning with tenderness in my right breast (which I chalked up to PMS). By 9am, though, it had grown intense, and by the time I pumped at 10am, I was really miserable. I left work early and by lunchtime was running a 102.5 degree fever while taking extra-strength motrin, so we decided to go get it checked out at urgent care. I was prescribed antibiotics and motrin and told to keep nursing, massaging, applying heat, and taking it easy. I’m supposed to go in for a recheck tomorrow. The rest of Thursday, I was out.of.it. I was delirious with the high fever, had tingling and numbness in my joints and neck, and was just beside myself with discomfort in my breast. My heart goes out to the many new mamas who experience this multiple times early on in their nursing relationship. It’s really the pits. So today I am feeling a little more like me. The fever has abated and the prescription motrin seems to be keeping a handle on my pain. Bram and I aren’t showing any reactivity to the antibiotics (a fear given his recent bout with penicillin allergies). Still, though, I can’t move any milk through the left quadrant of my right breast. It’s red, hard, and warm to the touch, which makes me think that there’s still a plugged duct(s). I really hope that I can get this worked out myself, as the idea of more aggressive treatment sounds really unpleasant (and makes me worry about keeping our nursing relationship consistent). So: Heat-Massage-Drain-Rest-Repeat.

In much happier news, how about R’s last post!?! We are so so so excited by our new Love Child. Early Days, yes, but I’m choosing cautious optimism over debilitating fear and anxiety. We just miss out on so much living because of the latter. R is at the outset of nausea and fatigue (though that could also be the byproduct of it being less than a month before she goes to committee with her dissertation). Our first appointment with our midwives’ group will be in April, and we think we’ll be able to see our beloved friend and midwife, C, before she’s out for maternity leave with her own new bundle-of-joy. We really do love our practice and are very encouraged to think that we’ll be able to birth at the low-risk hospital again! And I for one am hopeful and excited about becoming an NGP to a baby that R carries. I look forward to the many things that I missed out on because I was so locked into my own bodily experience of our pregnancy with Bram. I caught glimpses of those benefits during our time with Saul, but I am curious how those dynamics will play out for me over a lifetime of parenting.

And I would be remiss to not offer some recent photographic evidence of our toddler (Toddler!?! How did that happen?). R has had to handle all of the big news and heavy pronouncements on the blog lately, so I’m bringing some lightness!

Storytime with Bubbie is the level-best:

549401_10151453268382870_429373997_n

Bram and I handle our co-op shopping together every weekend. He’s getting really sweet about interacting with the other customers and carrying produce for me…

535949_701201825935_479865988_n

Bram planking with Uncle Buddy:

24621_10151386819512870_734646395_n

B still adores being worn everyday:

487837_701504783805_1454572545_n

Bram’s snow adventures in our backyard:

858728_702788675875_747261722_o

And he’s up! Bram started walking at right about 13 months. It was a shy skill at first, but he’s walking more and more each day:

860757_702788860505_665316400_o

This is our beautiful, sweet, goofy, earnest toddler (photo credit: Aunt Kippie at the Children’s Museum):

17004_10101061528380719_598297704_n

7 thoughts on “.turning over.

  1. That sounds so painful, J. I hope that everything clears up soon, for you and Bram. Ouch! (But still over the moon excited for you about the last post, too!)

  2. Just as the last post made my heart happy with news of the Love Child, this one makes my heart dance and sing with news and updates of beautiful Bram. You guys are just the happiest looking family! Hope you continue to feel better!

  3. Bram has grown so much since I’ve last checked my blog reader! He is so utterly adorable! And I am so happy and excited about R’s previous post! Congrats! :-)

  4. Ugh. I am so sorry to hear you’re not feeling well. It’s been a few days now, so I’m hoping it’s cleared up by now. Still though. Awful.
    I feel like I’ve said it a million times, but that doesn’t mean I can’t say it again, I am SO happy that your beautiful family is growing. Hope Renee doesn’t get hit too hard by pregnancy sickness. I found it very difficult (lying in bed, crying, seriously wondering if I’d ever be okay again) until I started taking medication. Yeah, so I hope she doesn’t get that.

Leave a Reply

