Liebster Love

I had surgery, and of course J is pregnant (!!!!!), so there are a thousand things to report. But first: Breaking Into Blossom was lovingly nominated for the Liebster Award by two amazing bloggers: Yogi’s Mama from Love Invents Us and Sarah from Bliggity Bloggity Bloo. That is straight up kindness. Thanks, readers.
The Liebster is a way for small bloggers to give recognition to other small bloggers (200 followers or less).
When you’re nominated for one, here’s what you do:
  1. Thank the Liebster Blog presenter who nominated you and link back to their blog.
  2. Nominate 11 blogs who you feel deserve to be noticed and leave a comment on their blog letting them know they have been chosen.
  3. Answer the 11 questions you were asked and create 11 questions for your nominees.
  4. Display the Liebster Award logo.
  5. No tag backs meaning you can’t just re-nominate the person who nominated you. (This rule sucks.)

Our nominees (in random order):

  1. greensteeped
  2. Dadding Dudes
  3. Two Moms To Be
  4. Insert Metaphor
  5. Small Obsessions
  6. The Feminist Librarian
  7. the beagle’s nest
  8. Two Mommies AND A BABY!
  9. Sentence and Solaas
  10. Pepibebe
  11. All Things Relative 
Questions from Love Invents Us:
  1. When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up? You know, I’m not even sure. I think I just wanted to change the world.
  2. What’s your favorite ice cream flavor? I’m a gelato girl. Right now, I’d sell my crutches and have to crawl around for two scoops of gelato from a shop in a nearby town: one scoop of toasted coconut and one of dark chocolate. But back in Charleston, I’d take a scoop of pistachio gelato and dip tiny gelato-spoonfuls into espresso. Be still, my longing.
  3. Share your three favorite (non lesbian baby-making) blogs. I don’t read too many blogs that aren’t about queer parents, but I am in love with Five Kids is a Lot of Kids. Because five kids IS a lot of kids. But oh oh oh oh oh the joy.
  4. What public figures (people we all might know) make your top five? (As in, people you think are hot). Hot? Okay. Well, Rachel Maddow. I mean, fuck. And Judith Butler. And Josh Lyman from President Bartlett’s administration. And J.M. Coetzee because, well, I’m me. And did I mention Rachel Maddow?
  5. What is your most favorite meal? Looking for more than breakfast, lunch or dinner here. What’s on the plate? Really, really, really good guacamole. I’m talking about toasted garlic and corn, fresh avocado, red onions, tomatoes, peppers, lots of lime juice. Salty chips. Eaten outside with a glass of Spanish Cava. That’d be winning.
  6. What book could you read over and over? Right now, I’m over the moon for Lauren Groff’s Arcadia. I think it’s a kind of perfect only otherwise found in, like, Woolf’s To the Lighthouse. But there’s something about Clarissa that brings me back to Mrs. Dalloway the way one puts on a sweater they’ve had for a decade when they’re feeling blue. And Steinbeck’s East of Eden. And Rushdie’s Midnight’s Children.
  7. Cats or dogs? Oh, cats. My soul is feline.
  8. What are five words that best describe you? You know what? I can’t think of good adjectives right now. Right now, when I ask my brain this question, I hear: insecure, clingy, controlling, anxious, and needy. Which isn’t like me, but there it is.
  9. If you could trade places with someone (anyone!) for a day who would it be? Right now? My wife. Because I could snuggle Bram all day, and spin him around and around, and nurse him, and take him on a long walk on my back, and slide down the slide at the playground with him, and take a bath with him, and carry him everywhere.
  10. An envelope stuffed with cash appears in your mailbox, what do you do? Put it in our adoption account and then take it out the second someone shows up to threaten our lives for having it?
  11. If someone threw you a surprise party would you feel loved or misunderstood? Is the surprise party full of kids and music and party hats and permission to eat all the foods I’m not supposed to have? If so, loved. This is an awesome question, though. :)
Questions from Bliggity Bloggity Bloo:
  1. If you could meet any one person dead or alive who would it be? Nadine Gordimer. Or, some days, Bram’s donor.
  2. Greatest accomplishment thus far? Being B’s mama.
  3. Where do you hope to be in 10 years? Married to J. Settled in our forever home. Parenting three kids and content with that. Tenured somewhere that prioritizes teaching over research. And a better friend than I’ve been of late. Just, a better version of me.
  4. Best vacation ever? The day-trip we took for my birthday this year.
  5. Hot or cold? Cold. There are blankets and sweaters and bonfires for that.
  6. If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be? A big city with a lower cost of living than Boston or New York in a state with full rights. Where is that? No, really: tell me.
  7. Favorite book? See above.
  8. If you could trade lives with someone just for a day who would it be? See above.
  9. Best thing about where you live? This is where we became an us.
  10. You’re stuck on a desert island and you get one type of food, what is it? Mexican, baby. See above re: guacamole.
  11. What’s one fun fact about you that not many people know? I love going to the movie theater more than almost anything other than parenting. Love everything about it from waiting in line to previews to too.cold central air to the credits at the end of the film.

My questions for our nominees:

  1. What comforts you most when you’re sad?
  2. What would you do on a dream day where money and travel time were no object?
  3. Favorite drink (with or without alcohol)?
  4. What character trait (of yours) do you most struggle to accept about yourself?
  5. How much water do you drink in a day?
  6. If you’re a parent, what has surprised you the most about the gig? If you’re not, what do you like best about not having kids (right now or at all)?
  7. What (if anything) makes you feel insecure about either being a parent or not being a parent?
  8. Top three television shows of all time?
  9. Specialty dish (or baked indulgence)? Something you’ve made time and again.
  10. Favorite thing about the person you’ve grown into?
  11. One simple, happy memory.
13 thoughts on “Liebster Love

  1. Bliggity Bloggity Bloo Q#6: You may be thinking of the city of Minneapolis/St Paul. ;-) Definitely not as big as Boston or NY, but an awesome place to live.

  2. Oh my goodness, how kind of you, R. I would love to answer your questions in a post, but for a variety of reasons, I have pared my blog down to the barest essentials (i.e. photos) to keep the grandparents satisfied. While I think it is for the best overall, I did find myself wishing I had a space to share some of the things I have created and some of the things I love, so I started a new one that I have not shared with those who read my family blog because I just don’t want their opinions/comments/concerns about it. (http://sentenceandsolaas.wordpress.com/)

      • Ohhhh, thanks so much. It is such an eclectic collection of things…I am a little afraid it is too disparate to be of interest to many people, but I am just doing what I like regardless (and incidentally, it seems to be attracting at least a few readers here and there)

      • Switched. Because seriously: your new blog is amazing. I’m already inspired. There’s TONS of stuff on there that I can even do without walking, which is a HUGE gift to my family right now.

  3. Argh, I’ve been so absent & missed this amazing news! Congratulations.
    Thank you for the Liebster nomination. I received some nominations before yours so am working through each one individually. Therefore, in reply to my first nomination, I’ve nominated you. I reckon that’s not a tag-back. Please call by to answer my questions if you have time. I’ll let you know when I finally get to your nomination and answer your questions.

  4. Pingback: thanks for the liebster love; let’s have some more! | the feminist librarian

Leave a Reply

