Louis Nathaniel

Our sweet sweet Dragon is here!

I don’t have a proper update in me (no sleep. many nights. wide-awake newborn.), but I’m mighty grateful that you’re all out there pulling for us, so I wanted to say: he’s here. And healthy.

And his name is Louis. Lou. Louis.

Louis after two people who’ve made a big difference to my wife. Nathaniel would have been my name if I’d been a boy.

Jax was a fucking rock star: two full nights of all-night contractions handled with quiet strength at home. It was stunning to watch. Then just four hours of active labor. One hour at the hospital. Three pushes. No drugs. Rock star.

We’re still in the hospital waiting for Lou’s GBS culture to come back. This is horrible and haunting. I have the worst homesickness in my life, only it’s not so much home as a certain little Bramble. Anyway, my mom has been so great with him (so great), and our amazing friend/sitter Grace has too, but I am missing him fierce and hard. We hope to be home by tomorrow night. We need to be. Tonight I called my mom in tears. She’d spent the whole day with him, and they’d had a blast. I told her I thought I was doing this awful thing to him. Failing him. She said, “Honey, he’s having a great time. He misses you two, but he’s good. Is it possible that you’re feeling this way because you just miss him?” Yes. Yes. I miss him.

But in the meantime, there’s this fella. Who we, of course, just love.

Louis Nathaniel: born 6 pounds, 12 ounces; 19.5 inches long; 9:10pm on 03.23.14.

He looks much much like his brother, but he’s smaller, somehow delicate looking, and maybe calmer too. Time will tell. For now, these. Our sweet new son.

Happy Louis.

1383230_10152225330707870_728348305_n

Skin-to-skin (under my tank) shortly after his birth. In addition to being an Amazonian-strong laboring woman, my wife took this photograph. She has layers.

1485089_815097148795_729399761_n

Pomo. Louis. Brand new feet.

1450235_10152225669102870_888247055_n

Their first meeting. Bram could not stop grinning. And kissing. And loving. It was… it was magical. While he was here, my fears all but disappeared. I want to go home.

1947463_10152225330692870_1226836802_n

A real birth story to come soon.

40 thoughts on “Louis Nathaniel

  1. OMG he is so. freaking. cute.

    And that pic at the end… two brothers and your whole happy little family. You two so deserve this… congratulations a million times. Wishing you so much joy.

    Can’t wait to read the birth story.

  2. Oh my goodness, I definitely just squealed at my phone upon discovering a new post from you with a newborn pic. So happy to hear that he is here and healthy, and adorable. Congratulations to all of you!! :)

  3. Congratulations to you all!
    This post is so beautiful. Your family is so beautiful.
    I know it’s so hard to feel like you’re not there for Bram right now, but he’s in good hands. I’m sure he’ll be thrilled to have you all home soon, but he’s enjoying this special time with his Grandma right now too. (From now on he’ll have to share her, you know. ;) )

  4. Congrats! I love his name! We have a “Lou” too and Nathaniel was my beloved g-dad’s name. Bram looks like he’s an amazing big brother already. Much happiness to you and yours.

  5. What a beautiful little boy! Congratulations! You have so much joy to come. I am biased for sure, but one is wonderful, but two is so much better. :)

    • Do you promise, Erica? Because I miss being a family of three SO MUCH more than I thought I would. I owe you a real message, by the way. Your last meant so much.

Leave a Reply

