dream chasing and a Bramble-Bug turns three

Ten comments to my existential-crisis-post of last week. Ten thoughtful, wise, loving comments. Thank you for that; you are deeply wonderful. Even the fact that – with your busy lives and your kiddos and your not enough time – you take the time to READ these meanderings is a gift.

Anyway, many of you are saying: do the community work. And that’s full of wisdom. My only thing is: I really don’t multitask well. At all well. When I have lots of little two- to three-hour things to do in a week – hell, when I have even two of them – I feel distracted. And when I feel distracted, I am not my wholly present self. And when I’m not my wholly present self, I panic. And I feel like I’m failing everyone. I don’t know how working parents do it. Even my wife: I watch her and how she moves in and out of roles and I feel at once impressed and disoriented. It took me a long time to see this part of myself – and even longer to stop judging it – but there it is: I lack a certain fortitude when it comes to balance. And hear this: I know what a privilege it is even to KNOW this about myself. It means that I’ve been allowed to step back. To do one thing at a time. It means that others have taken up the slack for me: in money making, in activism, in life. It is an indulgence. But I am easily knocked off my game, and I am scared of taking on a two-year responsibility that could chip away at my already shoddy equilibrium. So I’m not sure. But I have one more week to decide. At any rate, your comments warmed me. And lots of them made me laugh, as when a mama over at Queer Conceptional said “you sound like the sort of person who gets satisfaction out of the chasing of dreams, and there is value in that.” Yes: the thing I’ve most learned about myself through this journey of parenthood: I lack practicality. For better or worse – and make no mistake, it’s often for worse – we are dream chasers. J is better at covering that in herself than I am, but I sometimes think we’re unfit for practical life. But we’ll see. I’ll read your comments through a few more dozen times.

In terms of chasing dreams: we have a three-year-old KID in our house now. Yesterday was January 19th. A big big day in our little little house (Emmett Ever in 2011 and Abram Adrien in 2012, of course). It came on the heels of J taking part in a three-day anti-racism training. I hope (hope pray hope) she’ll write about that here soon. My mom spent the weekend with me and the boys (such a joy, and SO generous of her). B’s party is next weekend – I’m making these for a small gathering of our most beloved locals; we’ll all build snow-creatures outside before coming in to eat them – so this weekend and his actual birthday were all pretty low-key (a good thing since we’re all lousy with head colds). B had his first-ever Montessori walk around the sun on Friday, and we all got to watch. He was just pure light from being so happy. Then my mom gave B an incredible set of liquid watercolors (thanks so much for the recommendation, Erica!), and we spent the bulk of the weekend creating. Here are a couple of process and outcome photos; more to come on these, and why you should invest in them if you can at all.

Their first experiment:

10407092_10152913586557870_232310595583487034_n

The hearts we made with glue, salt, and watercolors: the big Bram-Bubbie-Mama work of the weekend. B will spend the next few weeks writing his name on the back of each of these, and then we’ll use them as Valentines. I am in love with each one, and with the memories I have of watching my mom and son make them.

photo 2

photo 1

And here’s a photo of what our birthday kiddo saw when he came downstairs yesterday: a handmade banner, a Winnie the Pooh balloon, and the magical dollhouse that came to him courtesy of his Grandmom (J’s mom), his Pomo, and his Mama. It used to belong to our most beloved children’s librarian (Mr. Bill. You’ve probably heard of him. He must be quite famous.) which makes it doubly wonderful. We have somehow amassed nineteen dolls to live in this two bedroom house, so J has taken it to calling it the “Lesbian Duggar House.” She is (adorably) less reverential than me.

10933924_10152918627697870_8649519048300651612_n

Anyway, Bram is three. Lou will be one before we know it. J knows even more about the catastrophe that is American racism, but she is all kinds of fired up to use (and sometimes silence) her voice in the service of ending it. These head colds won’t last forever. I thought I was too sick to keep caring (alone) for these kiddos today, but then B went to school and I had a meltdown from missing him. They are nice, these reminders that you’re right where you should be. I look forward to the day when we can do really meaningful service work with the boys on MLK Day, and I think it’s magical that sometimes B’s birthday will fall on that day. And we get to share our lives with these boys. These brothers, who are ever learning. I just can’t begin to understand the grace of it all.

10501834_10152906745187870_9117358140987021797_n

10404214_10152906774382870_5568520349397924240_n

10922713_10152911878772870_5946208740571492181_n

10888360_10152906751887870_8517869338795972429_n

4 thoughts on “dream chasing and a Bramble-Bug turns three

  1. I’ve been meaning to comment for days now, my dear friend, but the right words never came out. Today, reading *this* post, though, I have my thoughts. They are these: if you don’t want to do both option a and b, and if your dream is to write the novel, then write the novel. If you have the fire, chase it. There will always be causes and activism, but novels appear and vanish, and if yours is a good one, why not pursue it for as long as it will let you chase it? Is there a way that you can swap childcare for a few hours, especially on a day that B is in school? Or are there hours on Saturday/Sunday where J can pack you up and send you to a coffee shop so you can write for 2-3 hours? Either way, it sounds like to me that you crave to do something for yourself as an adult. And it is perfectly right and natural to have that wish, and I think fulfilling that wish will make you a more balanced mama and wife (in my opinion). I don’t mean to muddy the waters, but there’s my input, from another impractical dreamer. ;) Happiest of birthdays to your kiddo!!!

  2. I always think it’s so useful to ask other people for advice, because even when you don’t hear what you want to hear, you suddenly know what it is that you wanted to hear. So hear that you should wait on activism and go on writing. Because it doesn’t really matter what we all think, except as a way of helping you see where you want to be. Plus, I’m excited to read it someday!
    Your boys are so sweet. There’s an earnestness about them that I’m sure my kids must share but which I can’t see for being too close. Happy belated birthday to Bram! A lesbian Duggar household seems the best use of any dollhouse!

Leave a Reply

